Sweet Potato Soup in summer…It’s what’s for lunch.

Everyone  who I have served this soup to has asked for the recipe, and this even includes my own kids who can get it at home.  They want to know that when they move out, they will be able to make this on their own. I’m sharing it here for easy access to a delicious recipe that anyone can make.

270693619_32c9b2c294_s I know that summer is a funny time of year to be posting a hot soup recipe, but why not  eat it all year long?  It is simple to make -a one pan meal- and very healthy. I make it in every season, and each time I do, I am trying to make the batch better than the one before.  The last time I made it, I did not have any chickpeas so I substituted one white potato and it was just as yummy.  Another time, I left out the red pepper flakes because someone didn’t like spicy things. Once I tried adding extra cinnamon, and it wasn’t as good. I’ve tried a few different variations, but here is the gist of it:

To serve 4-6:

3-4  sweet potatoes

1 onion

1 small can diced tomatoes

chicken stock or broth (or chicken bullion cubes)

Heaping tablespoon of peanut butter

1/2-1 small can chickpeas OR 1 white potato

1 tsp cinnamon tsp

sprinkle of red pepper flakes (optional)

Peel and chop the sweet potatoes and place them in pan (or crock pot). Add enough broth to cover them. Add all the other ingredients. Simmer everything together until potatoes are tender. Mash slightly (or more for creamier texture) and serve.

Leave a Reply

