Choices, choices everywhere

I have so many topics that I want to write about that I’ve avoided focusing on just one. Sitting down to write a post means having to choose what to write about, and my mind has been swimming with too many ideas. I write down the subject matters as they come to me, keeping a list, but usually one topic of the other will come to the forefront. But lately they are all there, eager for my attention like a classroom full of raised hands waving wildly. “Pick me, pick me” each topic seems to call out, so I pick none.

I only want one at a time.   Choices are good, but too many are overwhelming and can dilute the experience of the one thing. I once worked with a woman who told me she always bought her clothes at the same store because otherwise there would be too many choices to make. One store! All of her clothes. That’s how she simplified her shopping issues. 2014-09-19 11.09.25

I recently traveled to the San Francisco area and was struck by the beauty, the vastness and the farms at the ocean’s edge, south of the city.  Every time I go somewhere new or even just read about it, I wonder what it would be like to live there. There are so many different choices that I occasionally wonder if I am missing out on all the ones I didn’t pick. I don’t just want to see different places; I want to settle in. I want to live there, a lifetime in each place. But I don’t want to leave where I am. I’ve heard it said that you can live far or you can live deep. I want both. I want to live deep but in several different places, and all without actually leaving my current home. Impossible.  Alas, we all have to choose.

Upon returning from this California trip, I went to my high school reunion. I grew up just one town over from where I live now.  Most of my husband’s and my family members live within an hour from us. Our roots are here. Our children are here. I love New England. I can go to the ocean, mountains, or city all within an easy drive. I love my state. I love most of our seasons. In the winters though, I find myself dreaming of Arizona, California, New Mexico, and the Carolinas.

Family, roots, circumstances and practicality have all kept me where I am, and that’s probably a good thing. Who knows, indulging that little bit of gypsy or curiosity or whatever it is may have made me feel ungrounded or displaced.  Maybe visiting places when the opportunity arises is the way to go, at least for now and maybe forever. Like the woman who shops for clothes in just one store, there is something to be said for narrowing our choices about some things. Maybe where we live is simply a minor detail of life and how we live is what really counts.

*Please feel free to request a topic on simplifying. Knowing what readers want is helpful in narrowing down the choices!

Leave a Reply

